February 27, 2020

Lifetime Achievement accolade for Lady Brenda Hale at the 2020 Modern Law Awards

The 6th of February saw the seventh Eclipse Proclaim Modern Law Awards take place at the Victoria Warehouse, Manchester. The MLAs have become one of the most important dates in the legal services calendar, celebrating and identifying sparkling talent and success in entrepreneurship, market development, business management and best practice. The MLAs manage to combine the very serious task of recognising achievement with a memorable, entertaining and fun evening – moderated this year by the multi-talented, multi-voiced, Jon Culshaw.

For the important task of selecting the winner in each category, Modern Law Magazine assembled a distinguished judging panel of 15 leading sector professionals, chaired by Professor Thom Brooks FAcSS FHEA FRHisS FRSA, Dean of Durham Law School, Chair in Law & Government. The judges had the difficult task of choosing a winner from the nominations in 21 separate categories, along with selecting two recipients to be honoured for outstanding and lifetime achievements.

The Outstanding Achievement Award winner was Des Collins, of Collins Solicitors, for his unwavering commitment to fighting for answers, and sole focus on the victims. Accepting the award, he commented: “This is an amazing surprise, as I didn’t know I was going to get it. But it means a lot to the victims – they felt lost, but now they have someone who will represent them. And that representation has now been recognised by the profession. We hope that this year, as we move into the middle stages of the public enquiry, that they will recognise that this is about them – the victims. Not about anyone else. That’s important.”.

 The evening climaxed with the award for ​Lifetime Achievement going to Lady Brenda Hale, for her inspiring, ground-breaking, cutting-edge and supportive work; engaging with all parts of the profession and inspiring girls and boys to study law, succeed, join the Bar, and play a transformative role in moving our profession forward and for the better. Accepting the award on her behalf, Mike Napier CBE QC (Hon) paid tribute to the immense achievements of Lady Hale throughout her distinguished career.



(Full details here)


ABS of the Year

WINNER – Nottingham Law School Legal Advice Centre


Law Firm of the Year

WINNER –  Birketts LLP


Boutique Law Firm of the Year (1-10 Employees)

WINNER – Manders Law


Boutique Law Firm of the Year (11+ Employees)

WINNER – Family Law and Mediation Limited


Managing Partner of the Year

WINNER – James Thornton – ClientEarth


Lawyer of the Year

WINNER –  Charlotte Clode – FBC Manby Bowdler LLP


Chambers of the Year

WINNER: Exchange Chambers


Barrister of the Year

WINNER: Nabila Mallick – No5 Barristers’ Chambers


Team of the Year

WINNER: Instalaw Solicitors


Paralegal of the Year

WINNER: Callum Scott – Nottingham Law School Legal Advice Centre


Rising Star of the Year

WINNER: Kayleigh Leonie – Macfarlanes


Innovation of the Year

WINNER: Escalate Law


Marketing & Communication Strategy of the Year

WINNER: Morton Fraser


Client Care Initiative of the Year

WINNER: Farewill


Outstanding Commitment to Training

WINNER: Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner (BCLP)


Best Use of Technology

WINNER: Chambers 365 by Clerksroom


Business Growth Award



Combatting Fraud Award

WINNER: Shieldpay Ltd


Diversity & Inclusion Award

WINNER: MSB Solicitors


Supporting the Industry (1-25 Employees)

WINNER: LawNet Ltd


Supporting the Industry (26+ Employees)

WINNER: Geodesys


Outstanding Achievement of the Year

WINNER: Des Collins – Collins Solicitors


Lifetime Achievement Award

WINNER: Lady Brenda Hale